View Cart
Powered by Spearhead Software Labs Joomla Facebook Like Button

United States Amateur Champions Collection
1938 - 2018

In 1894 there were two tournaments called the "National Amateur Championship". One of them was played at Newport Country Club and was won by William G. Lawrence, and the other took place at St Andrew's Golf Club and was won by Laurence B. Stottard. This state of affairs prompted Charles B. Macdonald of the Chicago Golf Club to call for the creation of a national governing body to authorize an official national championship, and the Amateur Golf Association of the United States, which was soon to be renamed the United States Golf Association, was formed on December 22 of that year. In 1895 it organized both the first U.S. Amateur Championship and the first U.S. Open, both of which were played at Newport Country Club.

Many of the leading figures in the history of golf have been U.S. Amateur Champion, including Bobby Jones five times, Jerome Travers four times, Jack Nicklaus twice and Tiger Woods three times (all consecutive; the only player to win three in a row).

This amazing collection contains 58 autographed U.S. Amateur Champions golf balls beginning with Willie Turnesa, the 1938 Champion. Included in the collection are:Willie Turnesa (1938, 1948), Charles Coe (1949,1958), Sam Urzetta (1950), Billy Maxwell (1951), Gene Littler (1953), Arnold Palmer (1954), Jack Nicklaus (1959, 1961), Deane Beman (1960, 1963), William C. Campbell (1964), Bob Murphy (1965), Gary Cowan (1966, 1971), Bob Dickson (1967), Bruce Fleisher (1968), Steve Melnyk (1969), Lanny Wadkins (1970), Vinny Giles (1972), Craig Stadler (1973), Jerry Pate (1974), Fred Ridley (1975), John Fought (1977), John Cook (1978), Mark O'Meara (1979), Hal Sutton (1980), Nathaniel Crosby (1981), Jay Sigel (1982, 1983), Scott Verplank (1984), Sam Randolph (1985), Buddy Alexander (1986), Billy Mayfair (1987), Eric Meeks (1988), Chris Patton (1989), Phil Mickelson (1990), Mitch Voges (1991), Justin Leonard (1992), John Harris (1993), Tiger Woods (1994, 1995, 1996), Matt Kuchar (1997), Hank Kuehne (1998), David Gossett (1999), Jeff Quinney (2000), Bubba Dickerson (2001), Ricky Barnes (2002), Nick Flanagan (2003), Ryan Moore (2004), Edoardo Molinari (2005), Richie Ramsay (2006), Colt Knost (2007), Danny Lee (2008), An Byeong-hun (2009), Peter Uihlein (2010), Kelly Kraft (2011), Steven Fox (2012), Matthew Fitzpatrick (2013), Gunn Yang (2014), Bryson DeChambeau (2015), Curtis Luck (2016), Doc Redman (2017), and Viktor Hovland (2018). We're still on the look out for an autographed ball for: Ted Bishop (1946), Skee Riegel (1947), Jack Westland (1952), Harvie Ward (1955, 1956), Labron Harris Jr. (1962), and Bill Sander (1976) and we've left 6 spots for future champions. Displayed in a beautiful, wooden, locking display cabinet and featuring a 2018 U.S. Amateur pin flag.

Golf Links To The Past is proud to guarantee the authenticity of every autograph we sell. In addition, we provide appropriate documentation from official licensees who have commissioned private signings or we employ the services of the two leading independent autograph authenticating companies — James Spence Authentication (JSA) or PSA/DNA.

Dimensions: 30" x 36" x 3.5"

Item: ASM055